Ever worked a job where the baddies were out to get you to quit?

• Welcome to Christian Forums, a Christian Forum that recognizes that all Christians are a work in progress.

You will need to register to be able to join in fellowship with Christians all over the world.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Abigail

Jan 29, 2022
Brookside
Faith
Christian
Country
United States
I worked as a cashier for a company that lets just say has some very dark plotting baddies that are long term employees and who plot against new arrivals so they don't remain employed for long. Mainly because the baddies set up the new arrivals to take the blame for things that are the baddies doing. Or that are the result of poor training by lazy corrupt managers.

Now I'm wondering at my chances of getting another job if I omit the bad shop that I worked at for a few months. One application I filled out today asked if I'd been gainfully employed in the last 22 months. If I gave that bad shop as a reference the record the baddies set me up with will be reported. Which makes for a really bad reference.

They've had 10 employees, now including me today, who have quit in the last month and a half.

I was everything the long term employees who get away with all sorts of dirt including stealing from the til are not. Friendly to the customers, greeting them when they'd enter the shop, genuinely happy and cordial, helpful, and of course honest. One customer complimented me out loud. Calling me by name, which was on my name tag, and saying how wonderful it was and refreshing to be waited on by someone genuinely glad to see them.
The sourpusses I worked with loved to hear that I'm sure. They ignore customers, gossip with the ones they've known for years while other customers are waiting their turn. Managers don't say a word.