Heaven, What Do You Believe About It......

• Welcome to Christian Forums, a Christian Forum that recognizes that all Christians are a work in progress.

You will need to register to be able to join in fellowship with Christians all over the world.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Truth OT

Oct 24, 2019
Cypress
Faith
Agnostic
Country
United States
I believe lot of people make the mistake of reading John chapters 14-17 then taking the words of Jesus and applying those words to themselves as they lift them from the writer's context. They apply them to you, I, and everyone when in fact He was addressing a very specific group. I will totally admit that the whole Heaven promise or should I say invite is difficult to grasp and I am still studying and trying to further my knowledge on the subject, but as I currently understand it, it seems that according to scripture, the Heavenly inheritance was a promise limited by Jesus to an elect few and it seems the main hope of the human race given in scripture was to be a resurrection as opposed to a heavenly inheritance. I know we have been taught in religion that after death, heaven awaits, but as one studies the scriptures it seems like it can be correctly concluded that the invitation to heaven was a limited one.

shnarkle

Nov 10, 2013
Faith
Other Faith
Country
United States