I am stumped. Cannot answer friend's questions

• Welcome to Christian Forums, a Christian Forum that recognizes that all Christians are a work in progress.

You will need to register to be able to join in fellowship with Christians all over the world.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Foreigner

Apr 14, 2010
Okay, I am stumped. I have been speaking with this gentlemen for about 18 months. I mentioned this in passing on this board a little over a year ago.

He states he is open minded (and I truly believe him) but he cannot reconcile the "God is love thing" with the observations he has made.

These observations are not to "stir the pot" but genuine questions he has that I am simply unable to answer.

I am more than willing to accept that being unable to address these concerns it is a shortcoming in me, but I do not know how to refute the direct statements he is making.

It came to a head yesterday when I shared with someone: "Being a Christian means to forgive the inexcusable, because God has forgiven the inexcusable in you."

He saw it and, as he said, "finally had enough of this type of mentality."
He asked "How is your behavior 'inexcusable' if you do not know who God is? If god allowed you to be born this way, with this nature, why then can he criticize you for it? You are basically being told that you have to see forgiveness for being the person that you were born as."

He wrote me a 3-4 page email and what is listed below is roughly the last page and a half.

I simply do not know how to answer his statements.
I would appreciate any CONSTRUCTIVE input that anyone here may have.

Thank you.