The Church At Rome

• Welcome to Christian Forums, a Christian Forum that recognizes that all Christians are a work in progress.

You will need to register to be able to join in fellowship with Christians all over the world.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Who Founded The Church At Rome?

• Total voters

ThyWordisTruth

Jan 11, 2011
USA
I've been studying the Book of Romans here lately, and I would like to know everyone's opinion on who started the Church at Rome. This what im studying for school...

BTW, if any of you have any info to add, please do so.

The Views -

1.) It was founded by Simon Peter -
The traditional view of the Roman Catholic Church which holds that Simon Peter founded the church at Rome. This view, however, easily can contradict itself...

- Paul never greets him once in the Book of Romans.
- If it were so, why did Paul say that he would never intrude on another man's field of labor? (Romans 15:20) [Paul planned on visiting Rome in Romans 1:11-12 , to preach and teach.]
- There is no evidence that Peter ever visited Rome, and even if he had, how could he in just eight years after the "First Church Council in Jerusalem" (A.D. 48), erect a church at Rome holding a worldwide reputation?

2.) It was founded by the "strangers of Rome" - These are they who were present at Pentecost (Acts 2:10).

- They were Jews/Jewish proselytes, who would have founded the church in the Jewish synagogue... However, it seems unlikely that new converts would possess the time to establish a new Church at Rome.
- In Acts 28: 17-22, we read that when Paul first arrived in Rome- He being bound in chains- not one Jew had any intimate knowledge of Christianity... They even denied recieving any letters on his behalf.

3.) It was founded by various converts of Paul - Those whom he greets in Romans 16. (The Most Acceptable View)