New idea for church functionality

• Welcome to Christian Forums, a Christian Forum that recognizes that all Christians are a work in progress.

You will need to register to be able to join in fellowship with Christians all over the world.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Doug_E_Fresh

gяελ нατ jεsμs ƒяεακ
Dec 7, 2013
Pennsylvania
dswdoctrine.wordpress.com
Faith
Christian
Country
United States
I have been thinking a lot lately about certain things relating to our ideas of the church. This may seem a little brainy, or sporadic, but try to bear with me. Some of the main thoughts have been about the following topics:

1. Spiritual Gifts
2. Members of the Body of Christ
3. The way current day churches operate
4. The way the first churches started

This is a lot of information to cover, so I'll encourage you to read up on some of it before posting to create conducive discussion about this idea as to whether it would be feasible/ work. I'm still learning about it all myself.

That said, lets begin.

What I have seen in many different denominations in churches (around Pennsylvania) is that there are certain necessary practices that the churches have such as a form of any of the following: Praise/Worship, Tithing Call, Teaching (Sunday mornings), and a benediction. Other things are added/ modified/ removed depending on its value by the denomination i.e.: Sunday School.
These Sunday sermons always cater to both believers and non-believers (to varying degrees), but what is the goal of the church? I think phrasing the question that way, leads to some interesting paths we can take.

For example, one way to take it is to say, "We're to go out into the world and make disciples." and I would unwaveringly agree with you.

Another might say, "In the way you're stating it, I'd say that the goal of any church is to bring non-believers into the church so that they can hear the gospel and possibly be converted." and again, I would agree with them.