Why shouldn't Christians care about the environment and conservation

• Welcome to Christian Forums, a Christian Forum that recognizes that all Christians are a work in progress.

You will need to register to be able to join in fellowship with Christians all over the world.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Alligator guy

Apr 21, 2011
As I just posted recently, I'm majoring in Zoology with the hope of educating people about how valuable wildlife really is be it zoos or other areas. I have always been passionate about wild animals ever since I was a kid growing up near wetlands in Florida watching alligators, snakes, river otters, bald eagles and other fasinating animals. My biggest fear is watching some of the most fasinating animals in both my home state and around the world go extinct because of US. I also do volunteer work at our zoo (home of Jack Hanna).
I was reading an article recently that the Florida Panther will most likely be extinct in the wild within 5-10 years because of the habitat destruction. The animal isn't alone. We have been seeing more and more animals disapearing. While people like Jack Hanna have been very outspoken about this, I have seen very few from the christian side spoke out about this.
I remeber one christian pastor did went on tv and said this "we are destroying God's artwork because of our greed. God gave us wetlands, rainforrests, desserts, and the animals who occupy it for a reason."
He is so far the only one who leading a charge of it.
How much longer can we as christian continue to ignore this?

aspen

“"The harvest is plentiful but the workers are few
Apr 25, 2012
West Coast
Faith
Christian
Country
United States
Awesome post! Thank you for bringing this subject to discussion. Before we were called to love one another, we were called to care for our environment. As a Catholic Christian, I am so impressed with the evangelical community that has taken a stand for the environment - it is inspiring.