Anyone Want To Learn Guitar of Music Theory

• Welcome to Christian Forums, a Christian Forum that recognizes that all Christians are a work in progress.

You will need to register to be able to join in fellowship with Christians all over the world.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

veteran

Aug 6, 2010
Southeast USA
I've been playing guitar and studying music for over 25 years now (rock, country, blues, jazz). Any advice needed, feel free to ask. I enjoy the subject as much as helping others.

Reactions: Angelina

veteran

Aug 6, 2010
Southeast USA
Here's some advice for beginning guitar players, even if you've already been playing for a couple of years or so.

1. Get the best quality guitar you can afford when starting to learn. It's easier to sell a good guitar if you decide you don't want to continue later on. Some of the high price acoustic manufacturers now make an entry level version, like Martin, Taylor, Washburn, with a lifetime warranty.

1a. Holding the guitar. Your fretboard hand knuckles should be parallel to the length of the fretboard (as much as possible). Your 4th pinky finger is an important playing tool, not just bent backwards out of play. Thumb goes centered under the neck; that's how you'll find the strenght to push down on the strings with your other fingers. Prop your leg (fret side) up if you have to, with the neck higher in the air. In Spain (where the guitar originated), a small foot stool is used to prop the fret side leg up. Train don't strain. Hand muscles need time for stretching and developing strength, just like any other physical workout. You can injure your hands if you try too hard. Get a hand cramp, rest it fully before starting again. Use Lemon Pledge or equivalent to clean your guitar AND strings after playing (finger sweat and dirt does get on the strings to make them tarnish faster).