Christian Mysticism

• Welcome to Christian Forums, a Christian Forum that recognizes that all Christians are a work in progress.

You will need to register to be able to join in fellowship with Christians all over the world.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

aspen

“"The harvest is plentiful but the workers are few
Apr 25, 2012
West Coast
Faith
Christian
Country
United States
Oxymoron? Valid method of Christian prayer?

What is Christian Mysticism? Did the Catholic Church take a wrong path by tolerating this practice? Is diect experience with God possible through prayer or is it just a gnostic/neoplatonic fantasy? Is it different than Quietism, which was declared a heresy by prots and caths?

Prentis

May 25, 2011
Montreal, Qc
I'm not an expert on mysticism... And so I won't pretend to be one.

According to what I understand...

Mysticism goes into the spiritual realm. The risk there is 'which spirit?' To me, I see christianity as a path with two ditches, we must walk by the Spirit, but the right spirit.

On the one side of the ditch, there is the dead christianity, that is according to beliefs, to the letter of the law, rather than according to life by the Spirit in Christ Jesus. Mysticism does well in avoiding that mistake, but can more easily get itself into the other ditch... The other ditch is to accept all spiritual experiences as positive and from God... To seek spiritual experience for the sake of spiritual experience, because we think that is God's focus. The danger of that side of the path is that you accept any spirit.

Chrstianity is meant to be in the middle of the path, walking straight, walking not in death, but by life in God's Spirit, but also discerning the Spirits.

Reactions: Episkopos

aspen

Apr 25, 2012
West Coast
Faith
Christian
Country
United States