How Is A Christian Lady Supposed to Dress?

• Welcome to Christian Forums, a Christian Forum that recognizes that all Christians are a work in progress.

You will need to register to be able to join in fellowship with Christians all over the world.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

emekrus

Apr 18, 2015
Nigeria
Faith
Christian
Country
Nigeria
“In like manner also, that women adorn themselves in modest apparel, with shamefacedness and sobriety; not with braided hair, or gold, or pearls, or costly array; but (which becometh women professing godliness).” 1 Timothy 2: 9-10

At a particular time, as I studied my scripture, this very scripture above, struck a chord in my spirit (witness of the Spirit). But I’m so confused as to why so many Christian ladies neglect its application in their dress code.

Worse of all, so many Christian leaders seem to be silent concerning this particular scripture. You know, we still see so many Christian sisters, dress so worldly in aberration to the above scripture. We still see sisters wear immodest attires around, even to the Church.

We still see Christian women adorn themselves with gold, pearl (Jewelries). Braid (Plait) their hair. Even wear costly arrays, yet no one seems to see anything wrong with it, except a few leaders that I know.

It amazed me the most, that even when I talked to lady minister concerning this scripture, her only defense was that, it was the Apostle Paul’s peculiar perspective. Then she also added, that if I preached that kind of doctrine in my Church, that people will not come.

Yes, sure enough, I believe if I preach this doctrine in its unadulterated form, many sisters (even bothers) will stop coming-although I’m not interested in only quantity, but also in quality-But the question that I’ve kept battling with-and I’m yet to get satisfying answer to is…