Teshuvah vs. Metanoia

• Welcome to Christian Forums, a Christian Forum that recognizes that all Christians are a work in progress.

You will need to register to be able to join in fellowship with Christians all over the world.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Deadwheat1224

Aug 27, 2009
Can anyone enlighten me as to the difference between the Hebrew Teshuvah and the Greek Metanoia? I've been doing a bit of research on them myself, but would like to get other perspectives.Thanks,

Brother Mike

Sep 16, 2008
I am not very good with Hebrew or Greek. This is what I see in the overall scripture concerning these two. More opinions might be helpful. Both mean to change ones mind, and turn the other way. Using Hebrew Teshuvah to Christianity could be problematic, as Jews understand this to include ritual practice, much like the Greek term would include Baptism. For Hebrew Teshuvah, one might build a new temple to worship in. The Jews are use to God's instructions on building Temples, and temples are a place for repentance. For Jews this was mostly used for whole country or nation. To repent, like the City of Nineveh did. Hag 1:3 Then came the word of the LORD by Haggai the prophet, saying, Hag 1:4 Is it time for you, O ye, to dwell in your cieled houses, and this house lie waste? Hag 1:5 Now therefore thus saith the LORD of hosts; Consider your ways. Hag 1:7 Thus saith the LORD of hosts; Consider your ways. Hag 1:8 Go up to the mountain, and bring wood, and build the house; and I will take pleasure in it, and I will be glorified, saith the LORDPaul who was a master at Hebrew laws, and could quote the old Testament may have had an issue getting across the difference between Teshuvah and Metanoia, both mean to turn and repent, but the Greek word which has a Hebrew connection to Teshuvah was more in relation to changing ones mind, or having a change of heart. It was something related to a single person, and not a nation. Look at the book of