Writing Music

• Welcome to Christian Forums, a Christian Forum that recognizes that all Christians are a work in progress.

You will need to register to be able to join in fellowship with Christians all over the world.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Davy

Feb 11, 2018
Southeastern U.S.
Faith
Christian
Country
United States
I noticed there's not thread for those interested in writing music. Surely there's brethren here that play an instrument, and/or write music.

Episkopos

May 17, 2011
Montreal
Faith
Christian
Country
Canada
I noticed there's not thread for those interested in writing music. Surely there's brethren here that play an instrument, and/or write music.

Hey Davy,

Yes. I'm a musician...I was called as such when I was converted to Christ. I do recordings in various styles. I don't really gig anymore. I write, compose and play bass and guitar and some keyboards..and sing periodically. I'm currently finishing up a world beat jazz album project (called ...Immanence).

I see a difference between songwriting and composing. A song centers on words and what it takes musically to back up the words. Composing involves a flow of musical ideas stated without words. Either way, music is an "unspoken" language that defies rationalization in and of itself. Classical music works because of an unlimited expression through sound impressions that work on the soul in deep ways. I see jazz working the same way. :)

Davy

Feb 11, 2018
Southeastern U.S.
Faith
Christian
Country
United States
Hey Davy,

Yes. I'm a musician...I was called as such when I was converted to Christ. I do recordings in various styles. I don't really gig anymore. I write, compose and play bass and guitar and some keyboards..and sing periodically. I'm currently finishing up a world beat jazz album project (called ...Immanence).