Ever been to a PROPHECY Class??

• Welcome to Christian Forums, a Christian Forum that recognizes that all Christians are a work in progress.

You will need to register to be able to join in fellowship with Christians all over the world.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

ScottA

Feb 24, 2011
Faith
Christian
Country
United States
My wife and I have been attending a new church (gathering) for about 6 months and a "Prophecy Class" was offered, and we just attended the first of 5 classes...and it didn't go as well as I might have hoped.

Introductions were given and an explanation of the Instructor's history of teaching the class, he hit on a few hopes and intentions for this particular class, and then finished with what seemed more like a seance. Not necessarily wrong, but perhaps more could have been said to explain biblical prophecy. The instructor then called up some of the regulars in service at the church, and they began to pick out others in the class and gave a prophecy of what they said God was revealing to them for or about the person. But, with all due respect, I do have to say--my wife and I were singled out, and a prophecy was given...that was pretty right on! And then it all finished with a thank you and an announcement that "It's just going to get better!"

Yeah, not what I had hoped, or would even recommend. So I thought I would offer perhaps a better outline:

Introduction

Prophecy in scripture and now in the church means different things. The most common understanding is the foretelling of events, that the message be known as being from God and not just the person. But it can also be a declaration, explanation, or translation of something. During Old Testament times, as Peter wrote, "prophecy never came by the will of man, but holy men of God spoke as they were moved by the Holy Spirit." And as you will see in the scripture below, that has not changed for the church (God never changes).