Is it idolatry or work?

• Welcome to Christian Forums, a Christian Forum that recognizes that all Christians are a work in progress.

You will need to register to be able to join in fellowship with Christians all over the world.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

J.W.

May 18, 2021
Lafayette
Faith
Christian
Country
United States
So, I have been wrestling for some insight on something. I work in IT at a fairly high level. I believe God gave me my career as a blessing because honestly, the way I came about getting into tech was something of miracle in my life and it has bettered my families life SO much ever since and allowed me much more focus on Him as a result. Here's the thing though, I have to study so much for my career at times I feel like I'm leaving my spiritual life behind at times to immerse myself in my work. But, I don't want to discount God's blessing of my career either. We have a farm too, and as much as I enjoy my tech career, I'm always so much happier when I'm dealing with the dirt and livestock (but in today's world, those don't really pay the bills as much as my career). The farm is more of a hobby. So my question is this, when do I know when my career has become idolatry and isn't a gift from God anymore?

Last edited:

DPMartin

Jan 30, 2014
Faith
Christian
Country
United States