How Do You Make Friends At A Church?

• Welcome to Christian Forums, a Christian Forum that recognizes that all Christians are a work in progress.

You will need to register to be able to join in fellowship with Christians all over the world.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Kira

Jun 23, 2018
California
Faith
Christian
Country
United States
Hello. I am 63 years old, and very alone, but for the Holy Spirit. There is no family left to me, and I am disabled from a head injury in a car accident, so I have difficulty in meeting people. Friends have drifted away, as I am not in their daily schedule. I use a rolling walker, and drive myself, but get worn out still by doing so.

I have been growing spiritually for many years but find that I do so very slowly. Abba has been very kind, and keeps me going, and improving in health, but I remain alone...too much alone for comfort. I wish to have more than my dog and cat can provide, darlings though they are.

I am growing better slowly, and have reached out to a small church nearby, but find myself confused as to what to do to make friends. I am not socially inept nor am I shy in the slightest, but I am damaged, and I have no minder to tell me what is correct and not correct for a church.

Churches and how they operate are a mystery to me, but Calvary Chapel, the little Church I have begun to attend, are sweet and kind people, but they seem to be closed off to me, an outsider, and one who has a more Nazarene outlook than they and have mixed heritage as well that leaves me caught between Gentiles and Jews.

And the accident...well, it leaves me changed from who I was. I have no part of my consciousness to watch and plan and keep myself to myself as I should, being too open, too confiding, much like a young child tugging on his mother's skirt to get attention, and wanting to be seen and heard, even though I am not a known quantity to the Churchgoers.