Version Smursions?!

• Welcome to Christian Forums, a Christian Forum that recognizes that all Christians are a work in progress.

You will need to register to be able to join in fellowship with Christians all over the world.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

LightTheWay

Oct 29, 2014
Guam
Hello everybody! So glad to be here and have the freedom to express my mind!

i intend not to offend anybody at all but to just share my viewpoint on versions of the bible and share how i have come to my stance on it now. I am still learning and open and eager to hear what Ya'll have to say so please feel free to voice your opinion too!

I guess i will just share a little story that happened recently. So, one day at school, my extremely intellectual teacher (with a good heart but disbelief in God) says hey audrey, i was cleaning my old bookshelf the other day and found a book and thought of you... and how much that book would offend you. So i asked why it would have offended me and he said it was basically a guy who talks about all the translations of the bible and how it lost its credibility and meaning than its original intent. I kinda just had to giggle and say that it doesnt offend me at all and that i agree that the translations from hebrew to greek has definitely watered down the meaning because of the language differences but i still believe that the word of God will speak. i find it silly to think that God will cease to speak to us over mere translations. However i do respectully agree that we must discern and test all things. I am not exactly sure where in the word it warns that the sacred texts will be altered but that is not my point. my point of view on all these translations is that i believe the word is living and will speak for itself if it is truly the word of God. And that we know it is the word of God if it does not contradict Gods character and the discernment from the Holy Spirit.