Was John the Baptist an Essene

• Welcome to Christian Forums, a Christian Forum that recognizes that all Christians are a work in progress.

You will need to register to be able to join in fellowship with Christians all over the world.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

TEXBOW

Jul 8, 2021
Cypress
Faith
Christian
Country
United States
Some think that John the Baptist was an Essene. Some say the Essenes were Gnostic or some of them were Gnostic. Maybe they became Gnostic at some point.

Reactions: LouisWilliams

Mungo

May 23, 2012
England
Faith
Christian
Country
United Kingdom
Some think that John the Baptist was an Essene. Some say the Essenes were Gnostic or some of them were Gnostic. Maybe they became Gnostic at some point.

I haven't heard that they were gnostic; just another sect within Judaism.

Reactions: dev553344

Mungo

May 23, 2012
England
Faith
Christian
Country
United Kingdom
I've more understood them to be Ascetics. But I'm no expert!

Much love!
The Essenes used a different calendar to the Temple, the former a solar calendar and the Temple a lunar calendar. One source I read suggests that this would solve one of the puzzles about the timing of the Last Supper.

JohnPaul

Soldier of Jehovah and Christ
Jun 10, 2019
New Jersey
Faith
Christian
Country
United States
Wasn't John The Baptist Jesus' cousin? Therefore he would be related to him through Mary and her cousin, John the Baptist's Mother.

marks

Oct 10, 2018
SoCal USA
Faith
Christian
Country
United States
The Essenes used a different calendar to the Temple, the former a solar calendar and the Temple a lunar calendar. One source I read suggests that this would solve one of the puzzles about the timing of the Last Supper.