Is it wrong to listen to metal music?

• Welcome to Christian Forums, a Christian Forum that recognizes that all Christians are a work in progress.

You will need to register to be able to join in fellowship with Christians all over the world.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

PlanetJeff

Sep 23, 2007
Music is a big part of my life,I'm a musician I play guitar and pretty much what I look forward to every day is playing guitar. But is it wrong to listen to aggressive, loud metal music? I think of it as a form of art but a lot of people consider it a sin and evil and it's a big part of my life. I listen to a lot of dark metal music like Death metal, Thrash metal you name it and I probably listen to it or know it.

tim_from_pa

Jul 11, 2007
"Thou shalt not rockest within thine camp." Hezekiah 4:15Just kidding!
biggrin.gif
I'd say the same thing about music as with verbal communication. What's the message about? Those who would condemn your type of music may have a bigger problem with gossip, for example, which is worse IMO. I would only caution you not to internalize very unbiblical lyrics if they are about drugs, sex, violence and what-not. It's not the sound, per se, but the message. Like I said, that applies to the way we speak every day.Tell ya what. I'm 48 years old and right now my biggest weakness is Agnetha Fältskog from Sweden, of course lately she's been singing mostly love songs these days. I won't say anything about your music if you don't say anything about my Agnetha. :angel9:
biggrin.gif

Christina

Apr 10, 2006
I would agree with Tim here coming from a musical family I dont think I could advise anyone not to listen to what they like but I agree about the message there has to be music you can enjoy without the negative lyrics. Agnetha???
smile.gif

Tyrel

Jan 16, 2007