Imported Foods

• Welcome to Christian Forums, a Christian Forum that recognizes that all Christians are a work in progress.

You will need to register to be able to join in fellowship with Christians all over the world.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Heart2Soul

Spiritual Warrior
Staff member
May 10, 2018
Tulsa
Faith
Christian
Country
United States
Hi forum, I am NOT writing this OP to cause panic and fear....only awareness.
So here I am in my kitchen preparing to make tuna salad...i was opening 2 cans of tuna that I bought at WalMart....and I had a thought to see where this tuna is processed and packaged because it had such a strong fishy smell. Yes, I know, tuna stinks...but this was very strong.

It is a WalMart label called Great Value.
I used to be a "name brand" only shopper but prices are skyrocketing so I have had to give up my name brands.
Well come to find out it comes from Taiwan....
I used to work in the food industry and was a safety Inspector as well....so naturally I wanted to know how they inspect their food processing to ensure quality and safety. I found this article on it...not extremely alarming...however, it only provides dates of the last decade and a half.
Asian countries are noted for dumping chemical waste into the oceans...well in that article it cited chemical toxins as a main issue.
So.now I am thoroughly peeved....WalMart needs to think about their customers and not their profit margin...going to email them tomorrow....okay that's all I am done ranting.
Major food safety episodes in Taiwan: Implications for the necessity of international collaboration on safety assessment and management - ScienceDirect

Reactions: Helen and Nancy

Rita

Dec 20, 2020
South
Faith
Christian
Country
United Kingdom