The Secrets of Arimathea

• Welcome to Christian Forums, a Christian Forum that recognizes that all Christians are a work in progress.

You will need to register to be able to join in fellowship with Christians all over the world.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Joe Cervasio

Apr 16, 2008
Hi, I would like to introduce myself. My name is Joe Cervasio, and I am a native of Nutley, NJ, and I like to write.My latest project is a book I have been working on for two years, about the "mystery man of the Bible," Joseph of Arimathea.Joseph, you recall, was the man of wealth who gave his own tomb for the crucified Jesus to be buried in.It seems, in the Bible, to be a magnificent gesture -- donating a permanent place to house the bones of a dead prophet. Tombs were expensive. At a time when so many were denouncing or denying Jesus, Joseph of Arimathea was right there, doing a bold and costly thing.Little did he know his permanent gift was only good for a weekend.Then -- poof -- Joseph disappears from scripture.And my thinking was: What was the rest of Joseph's story? Taking many liberties with the bare threads provided by the Bible, I wrote a tale in which Joseph was horribly demoralized by the crucifixion. Although Joseph had the courage to give Jesus his tomb, he quickly descended into a dreadful funk, crushingly disappointed that his beloved prophet was dead, and that none of his promises would ever come true.You see, Jospeh did not have information other disciples had, and he, being a rational, sensible man, concluded that the "resurrection" was merely vandalism, another outrage heaped on a mountain of outrages.But something happens -- a series of visitors come to Joseph in his despair, and one by one they fill him in on the details that were missing from Joseph's understanding.Peter, Mary of Magdala, Nicodemus, Zaccheus, the "rich young man," even the wife of Judas .. eleven in all, they make their way to Joseph's darkened villa and she