Does one to be released by pastor and elders?

• Welcome to Christian Forums, a Christian Forum that recognizes that all Christians are a work in progress.

You will need to register to be able to join in fellowship with Christians all over the world.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Triumph1300

Jan 11, 2018
Northern British Columbia, Canada
Faith
Christian
Country
Canada
I never heard about this before, but some say when a person decides to go to another church, that person needs to be “released” by the pastor and elders. Just recently a few people decided to start attending elsewhere and now they are going to be asked to attend a meeting where they will be released to go. I have been attending church since 1980 and have never heard about something like this. Is there any evidence in scripture about this?

Reactions: marks

marks

Oct 10, 2018
SoCal USA
Faith
Christian
Country
United States
I never heard about this before, but some say when a person decides to go to another church, that person needs to be “released” by the pastor and elders. Just recently a few people decided to start attending elsewhere and now they are going to be asked to attend a meeting where they will be released to go. I have been attending church since 1980 and have never heard about something like this. Is there any evidence in scripture about this?
I've heard of churches which won't accept you as an incoming member without a letter from your previous pastor.

I don't know anything in the Bible about that.

Much love!

Enoch111

May 27, 2018
Alberta
Faith
Christian
Country
Canada
Is there any evidence in scripture about this?